life………

“That’s how it works”

I’ve been in the industry for a year already. How time flies! (Parang 4 na buwan palang!) And in a span of a year, there are a lot of things that I have learned and figured out–both good and bad– that I didn’t know about before. After all the things that I have done and been into, I have come to realize a lot of things..

Recently I have been wondering about the current happenings around; and there is this one incident that made me question some things. (Not to mention what that incident was about) but it was something that I did not expect to happen because I did not think it was appropriate to be done. So I asked this certain someone about it, and the only thing that she said to me was “That’s how it (show business) works.” That response made me question everything; it was the kind of response I did not expect to come from someone who is very perceptive when it comes to these things–also from someone who’s very close to me. It was shocking though I did try to apprehend her perspective, but in the end I still failed to get her stance about the whole matter. Anyway, the whole thing is basically about *clears throat* pleasing people.

tell me why

I don’t really get the point of pleasing others. Seriously. If there is one thing in this world that I would never do, that would be it– pleasing people. I mean, we are in a world full of pretentious beings. Especially in my case, I am living in a world full of barbies– and no, it ain’t fantastic. Some people have really mastered the art of pretension; and it is up to us to determine what’s real and what’s not. We’ll meet and deal with different kinds of people in our lifetime and that includes the pretentious ones. Anyway, it is something that I could not and would never understand. Why bother trying to be someone you are not when you can just be yourself? Why seek for people’s approval on how to live your life? Why let other people’s opinions define you? Is that how it should work?

Some people kept on telling me that I should be this, this, this, and that I should do this, this, this, and all that but I kept on telling them NO– I don’t think I need to be all these “this” to be liked by people. I do not need and want to pretend to be someone I am not and do something I am not willing to do just to be loved and “accepted” by the people in this “barbie world”. I would never change who I am just to conform to the norms of this industry. Sure, “that’s how it works”, but I am who I am; and it’s up to people if they will like me or not.

If there is one thing people should always remember, that’d be this:
We are not born to please everybody.
You should know that not everybody will like you for who you are and what you do and you just have toaccept it. C’est la vie. Live your life the way you want and not the way others would want you to. You do not need to change who you are as a person just to be adored by others. There will always be people who will dislike you and will try to bring you down; and no matter how good of a person you are, they will always have something bad to say about you– and that’s alright, c‘est la vie.

How others see you is none of your business, at the end of the day what matters most is how you see yourself. You cannot control how others see you and think of you. I do not think there is a need for you to pretend to be someone else in front of people just so they’d say good things about you. For as long as you know that you have done nothing wrong to anyone then I don’t think there’s something for you to be worried about. Live your life the way you want to be and stop seeking for people’s approval in everything you do. Accept the reality that you cannot please everybody and we are not born to do that. Always be true to yourself and to those around you and remain that way– that would be enough. Remember that there will always be people who will love you; but it’s best to be loved for who you really are than who you are trying to be.

tumblr_lwzygycWlt1r8o01jo1_500

..that’s how it should work. 🙂

180 COMMENT

  1. CHACHA SALO REPLY

    This is a lovely piece. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It’s always wonderful to read your blog. I hope you could do it more often despite your busy schedule. That being said, I am happy that you get to have this time off for yourself (and loved ones).

Leave a comment